Okay, I did it again. The Slow Cooker. I am actually really starting to love it. I still can’t get over the weird smell chicken gets when its cooked in a slow cooker… but for everything else so far, I am really loving it.

I bought some brussels sprouts because they looked pretty but kind of forgot about them. The whole not wanting to be in the kitchen thing, ya know? So the other day while watching a Chopped marathon in my jammies, one of the secret ingredients was…you guessed it, brussels sprouts.

It got me thinking about this Thursday, Thanksgiving. I really wanted to make these but was tired of the old, bacon and onion thing… [insert gasp here]. Instead, I was thinking of trying something that I saw in Food and Wine Magazine that, at first, sounded pretty awful and I guess I was feeling open-minded with watching hours of Chopped and all…

So, inspired by F&W, I present a super easy side dish (Turkey day, perhaps?) that is practically effortless thanks to the good ol crock pot. DSC03078

Maple “Roasted” Brussels Sprouts.

  1. 1/4 cup canola oil
  2. 2 1/4 pounds baby brussels sprouts or regular brussels sprouts that are halved lengthwise (I quartered mine)
  3. Salt and freshly ground pepper
  4. 1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons and softened
  5. 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  6. 1/4 cup Grade A pure maple syrup
  7. 1 1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  8. 1 cup vacuum-packed roasted chestnuts, coarsely chopped (6 ounces)
  9. 1 tablespoon walnut oil

DSC03079

Here is the complicated part…

And by complicated, I mean not at all.

1. Throw everything in the crock pot.

2. Cook on high for 2 hours or on Low for 4.

3. Watch more Chopped.

4. Come back after your timer.

5. Done.

DSC03080

This was effortless!

And tasty.

If you are looking for a unique side dish, this one is it. I never thought I would have liked something like this and  it was pretty awesome. If you are having a huge feast, prepping these in the crockpot will save you time, valuable space on the stove top as well as in the oven, AND if everything else is done it will keep your kitchen cooler.

win. win.

If I don’t see you Tomorrow, Have a HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

