A few weeks ago, I decided to sign up for a cookie swap. Not just any cookie swap. But a blogger cookie swap. Through the powers that be, I received three blogger names and baked them a cookie recipe that was new to me and sent them each one dozen along with my business card as well as the recipe.

Somewhere along the way in my blogging journey, I won an awesome cookbook of the Best Bake sale Goodies. This cookbook, contained recipes for mass quantities of goodies and there was no doubling recipes required. I loved this! So, for my new cookie recipe, I sought Gretchen Holt-Witts Cookies for Kids’ Cancer Best Bake Sale Cookbook (boy was that a mouthful).

DSC03265

Prior to my decision to what kind of cookie I was going to bake, I attended a chocolate and wine party hosted by Green & Black. After a quick survey, they determined my flavor profile and pegged me as a White chocolate person.

Newsflash: I hate white chocolate.

And when I declared my distaste for the overly sweet white chocolate, they smiled devilishly and asked me to try theirs.

DSC03264

Before I knew it, I was telling them I wanted to use their white chocolate in a cookie for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. And they made it happen with much enthusiasm.

The cookie I chose to bake was a:

Dried Cranberry and White Chocolate Chunk Cookie (page 31, Best Bake Sale Cookbook)

Ingredients:

2.5 sticks unsalted butter

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, room temperature

1 large egg yolk, room temperature

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup quick cooking oats

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips or 4 1/2 3.3 oz bars of Green & Black white chocolate, cut into chunks

1 1/2 cups dried cranberries

DSC03266

Method:

Preheat oven to 325* 350*, (the first batch took too long to cook, so I cranked the heat). Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (I used a lightly greased cookie sheet)

DSC03268

Place the butter and sugars in the bowl o a mixer fitted with a paddle and beat until smooth and creamy. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla one at a time, beating well between additions. Scrape down the sides o the bowl. Place the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl and mix well. Add to the butter mixture and beat until everything is well incorporated. DSC03269

Scrape down the sides o the bowl, add the chocolate and cranberries and fold in.

DSC03272

Drop the dough by heaping teaspoons about 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet. Transfer to the oven and bake until the cookies begin to brown around the edges, 12-15 minutes. Cool on the cookie sheet and transfer to a wire rack and repeat with the remaining dough.

DSC03273

This recipe made 4 dozen cookies EXACTLY… however, while they were cooling a cookie monster swiped two but said they were tasty…. I packed the 3 dozen cookies with a recipe card and a business card and sent them on their way with an additional wish that they arrive in one piece….

Then this happened:

DSC03325

MAIL!

DSC03308

I got cookies from three lovely people. Katherine from Katherinejune.wordpress.com sent sugar cookies.

DSC03309DSC03310

They were very minty!

DSC03326

Catherine from thecatdish.com sent cookies from HAWAII!!!

DSC03328DSC03329

Nothing like a little savory to go with my something sweet!

DSC03334

Heather from Levavispatulas.wordpress.com sent over what I believe are some kind of lemon cookie along with a sexy red spatula.

DSC03335DSC03336

Can’t wait to see the recipes.

Overall, this was a fun project. I think I might participate in it again… Smile

Don’t forget to enter my Hershey’s Giveaway!!!

