Tags

, ,

“When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.”

In this case, when FreshDirect sends you an acorn squash you didn’t order, it shouldn’t go to waste. The acorn squash is very similar in flavor to its cousins, the butternut squash, the pumpkin, etc. The flavors vary slightly but they are all tasty none the less.

Since this was technically a free acorn squash, I wanted to experiment with it.

DSC03068

I wanted to roast the acorn squash in the slow cooker and then depending on the outcome, create a dish with it.

DSC03069

I started by cutting the acorn squash in half…

DSC03070

removing all the seeds and pulp. Then placing the squash cut side up in the slow cooker on high for 2 hours.

DSC03071

While the squash was “roasting”, I washed the seeds and thought it would be fun to roast them…waste not, want not. I sprayed the seeds with olive oil and put them in the oven at 425 for 10 minutes.

DSC03072

What a great snack! But I will say that roasting these is a pain in the ass. They pop and go every where! DSC03074

Well, at the end of the 2 hr mark, I checked on the squash. It didn’t really roast as it did steam.

DSC03075

The guts were complete mush. I thought about an acorn squash smashed potato but really wasn’t in the mood for that. I decided to revisit an old recipe that I got from a Rachael Ray Magazine (Yeah, I’m Judging myself too). Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese. I thought that this was a great time to make it since the last time I made the mac and cheese, the chunks of butternut squash were overwhelming. Now that the acorn squash is mush, it will hide better in the bechamel sauce.

DSC03076

I made a Bechamel sauce and added the acorn squash instead of the butternut squash.

Aside from the color, you could barely tell there was any in there!

DSC03077

I served it with some roasted chicken for insane deliciousness!

