Tags

, , ,

For Christmas 2010, my parents bought me a dutch oven. I was so excited when i got it that I researched recipes to try in it! I made a great beer braised chicken… and then never used it again.
It wasn’t on purpose, I just didnt remember to reach for the dutch oven all those times I made chili… and have been loving my slow cooker more than ever.

Then the other day while on the road mom sprang it on me.

“Mo, do you use your dutch oven that we got your for Christmas last year?”

“OF COURSE I DO! Why would you think otherwise?”

“Well, If i remember correctly, you said when you got it that you would make us bouef bourgignon…and its been a year. so, where is our favorite dish?”

<silence>

So, one of these days, i will be making that. But the following day while catching up on my google reader, I came across a chicken recipe that looked AMAZING and it was made in a dutch oven, so naturally i had to try this out.

The source: Skinnytaste.com

A site that I have come to rely on for delicious recipes that have been trimmed down to be delicious AND better for you.

Winning.

DSC03418

The recipe: Pollo in Potacchio Courtesy of Gina @ Skinnytaste
Ingredients:

  • 10 skinless bone-in chicken thighs (I used 8)
  • kosher salt and fresh black pepper
  • 3 – 4 small sprigs fresh  1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 carrot, 6 baby carrots, chopped
  • pinch red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 2 cups Imported 28 oz can crushed tomatoes (Tuttoroso) I accidentally added the ENTIRE can… oops.
  • 1/4 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine (Pinot Grigio) If you don’t drink it, don’t cook with it.
  • 2 cups low sodium, fat free chicken broth
  • kosher salt and fresh black pepper

DSC03419

To prepare this dish, You will need a dutch oven or a heavy bottomed pot (sauce pot) with a lid. Heat the oil in the dutch oven over a medium heat for about 2-3 minutes. Sprinkle the chicken breast lightly with salt and pepper on both sides and add to the dutch oven. Brown the chicken on both sides for about 8 minutes per side.

DSC03420

Set the chicken aside.

DSC03421

Add the onions and garlic to the pot and let them sweat it out for a little while. Add salt and pepper to taste. When the onion is translucent, add the carrots and celery and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Cook the veggies for about 6 minutes and then add the white wine and chicken broth to deglaze the bottom of the pot.

DSC03422

Use your cooking utensil (in my case a wooden spoon) to scrape up any browned bits in the bottom of the pan (AKA deglaze). Add the tomatoes (the correct amount please), marjoram, Rosemary and if needed, more salt and pepper.

I like my dishes on the saltier side so i added just a little bit more salt… but keep in mind that the chicken previously cooked, has salt on it too!

Bring the sauce to a bubble. Cover. Let simmer for 30 minutes. Because I added too many tomatoes, my dish was a little more soupy than I would have liked so I let mine simmer for an hour to reduce the sauce as much as possible.

 

DSC03429

After the sauce thickened I placed the chicken back in, covered and continued to simmer for 45 minutes.

DSC03432

When it was done, I could not wait to dig into it! It looked a lot like the chicken stew (pollo guisado)  my mother used to make when i was growing up!

DSC03433

except this version was made with wine! Wepa! DSC03436

Upon Gina’s reccomendation, i served this with some creamy polenta. Her recommended serving is one chicken thigh per serving, if I ever made this again (whic is likely) I would use legs and thighs and have one of each per serving.

And next time, i would pay closer attention to the recipe.

