Tags

, ,

I was really tempted to order take out the other day. In an effort to save my waistline and wallet, I attempted my own. It’s the same old story every time. I crave something and get a little lazy, so I make my own. I was quite happy with the turn out of this particular dish so I am happy to share!

But next time I feel lazy, Im probably just gonna order take out. Less dishes to clean!

DSC03670

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 cup beef broth

1Tablespoon cornstarch

1 Tablespoon Hoisin Sauce

2 Tablespoons Canola Oil

1 lb sirloin steak, thinly sliced

1 Tablespoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

2 teaspoons minced garlic

4 cups fresh broccoli florets

1/4 cup water

1/3 cup scallions

2 cups cooked brown rice

Directions:

I started by combining the soy sauce, sugar, beef broth, cornstarch, and Hoisin Sauce in a small bowl and setting aside.

In a large skillet, heat 1 T of oil over medium heat. Heat for about 1 minute and add the slices of steak in a thin layer, making sure not to overlap. Let them cook on each side for 2-3 minutes and set aside. 

Add 1 T of oil to the already hot pan and add the garlic and saute for about 30 seconds. Add the broccoli and stir to coat. Then add the water and green onions. Cook for about 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Now, you can add the contents of the small bowl (beef broth, corn starch, etc) and the already cooked beef to the pan and let the broccoli cook for 2-3 more minutes.

DSC03672

The sauce will begin to thicken. Once the broccoli is crisp tender and the sauce thickens you can remove it from the heat…

DSC03674

And serve over brown rice.

I definitely overcooked the broccoli… but I still enjoyed it. Next time, im just gonna be full on lazy. Smile with tongue out

