Tags

, , , , , ,

So… I mentioned in a previous post that I was seeing someone. While I have kept my seeing him a secret from you, today is the big reveal. Today, I introduce to you my boyfriend.

Whoa.

Still weird saying that.

I have never really been a debbie downer and am generally a really happy person, but this is probably the happiest I have been in a VERY long time. And I am happy to share the news with you guys.

C and I went to a wine bar over the weekend (I told you wine was his thing, right?) courtesy of mom and her plethora of groupons that were about to expire.

IMAG1288

Cellar 58 is an intimate and cozy wine bar on 2nd Avenue in the East Village. While the reviews were mixed, we both went with an open mind.

We started the evening with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand. Since I am a lover of whites, this was really pleasant. But It did hit me quickly.

IMAG1291

He started with the Farro Salad which I secretly wished I had ordered. Plump grains of Rarro with sliced artichokes and shaved Pecorino Romano. I managed to steal a bite and could have eaten an entire bucket of this stuff… but I went for something lighter.

IMAG1292

The Cucumber salad sounded pretty boring but the small bowl full of cucumbers, grape tomatoes, fresh corn, avocado and fresh basil with a light vinaigrette went so beautifully with the white wine that I forgot to be jealous of C’s delicious salad.

IMAG1293

C ordered the Filet Mignon Carpaccio. Paper thin slices of buttery marbled filet mignon. Served with some sharp cheese and bitter greens, this plate looked small but it was big on flavor.

IMAG1295

I had the sausage and polenta. It was a great dish when I thought about what it would be since I am a fan of polenta but the dish sort of fell short. I mostly enjoyed the sausage (that’s what she said) and the polenta was a little dry.

IMAG1296

For dessert, C ordered one of my favorites, Affogato (a little suggestive, isn’t it?). Two scoops of vanilla ice cream with a fresh shot of espresso poured on top. C isn’t a huge coffee person and despite that, enjoyed it but wished there was less espresso.

IMAG1299

I enjoyed the panna cotta with berry coulis. This panna cotta was creamy and had a delicious specs of vanilla bean in it…an overall win.

I liked the ambiance at Cellar 58. There was soft, mood appropriate, music playing and the staff were attentive but not pushy.

And, for those that are my friends on facebook you already know the face of the man that keeps me smiling.

But if you don’t, here is C in our first photo together:

IMAG1287-1

He has great potential.

Till next time bebes!

