Tags

,

I ventured into the supermarket the other day determined to make it a productive night in the kitchen. I found some gorgeous peppers on sale and decided to make stuffed peppers.
A simply stuffed pepper with rice, ground beef, a little cheese and tomato sauce and I was all set.
But then a friend of mine started talking about hot wings.
And then stuffed peppers were about to put aside for a trip to the bar for wing night…
I was determined to not scrap my plans and challenge my recipe to satisfy my sudden craving for hot wings.
I made a buffalo blue cheese stuffed pepper.DSC03797

Ingredients:
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup sliced mushrooms (i used cremini)
1/2 cup celery, diced
1/2 cup carrots, diced
1/4-1/2 cup vegetable stock

1 lb of ground beef (optional, vegetarians)
4 large bell peppers, cut in half lengthwise and seeded
1 cup cooked white or brown rice
3/4 cup wing sauce (i used Frank’s red hot)
1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles

DSC03799

Method:
To start, heat a tablespoon of oil in a large skillet over medium- high heat and add the onions. Cook the onions, stirring often for about 3 minutes and then add the garlic. Cook the garlic and onions for an additional 2 minutes.
Add the veggies (mushrooms, celery, and carrots) to the skillet and stir fry. To get all the lovely bits off the pan and to soften up the veggies, add the stock 1/4 cup at a time. You may need more or less, depending on how your vegetables are cooking. When the vegetables are fork tender, you can continue to the next step.
If you are cooking with the beef, add the beef to the vegetables, and with a wooden spoon, break up as it cooks to create a crumble. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook beef till no longer pink. About 5 minutes.
DSC03801In a large bowl combine the cooked rice, beef/vegetable mixture, wing sauce, and blue cheese and fold mixture together. You want the mixture to be moist and somewhat sticky.
DSC03802

Preheat your oven to 350*. Fill a baking dish  with half an inch of water. Take each pepper half and spoon in a hearty portion of rice and veggies making sure they are really stuffed. Line the peppers side by side in the making sheet and water and cover with foil. Bake for 30 minutes.
DSC03803

They are done when the peppers are soft (or to your liking).
My wing loving roommate really enjoyed these peppers and was delighted by their flavor.
DSC03804

I must admit, they did take care of the wing craving…
One portion is half a pepper but I was super hungry and ate two halves…then I was overly stuffed.
Stuffed peppers are great for creativity. You can literally put anything in them. My own mother, a novice pepper stuffer, surprised me with a pepper stuffed with turkey chili and white rice.
Well played mom.
Well played.

