Tags

, , ,

Another one of those awesome St. Patty’s Day posts that I had meant to post that were stuck in the limbo between my camera and my PC.

The lovely people at McCormick had reached out to me in honor of St. Patty’s Day with some fun recipes to try out.

IMG_8923

Every year, I look forward to my coworkers cupcakes on St. Patrick’s Day. She makes chocolate cupcakes with guiness cake batter, baileys frosting and a whiskey chocolate ganache in the center. Its an overall drunken snack and the real kicker is the ganache. Now, that’s how I wanna take my whiskey from now on! In CAKE FORM!

IMG_8924

Aside from those cupcakes, I had never had anything sweet for St. Patrick’s Day.

While looking through the recipes and the goods inside, I came upon a bottle of Peppermint Extract. My first thought were thin mint cookies and when I realized that time was NOT on my side, I opted to make the next best thing:

Peppermint Brownies.

IMG_8926

And not the elaborate kind with mint green cream on top, but rustic, fudgy, pepperminty brownies.

My tried and true Brownie Recipe was the perfect vehicle for the peppermint extract.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sticks butter

1 1/4 cups sugar

3/4 cup cocoa

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract peppermint extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup flour

IMG_8936

Preheat an oven to 325*.

In a stand mixer, mix together the melted butter, sugar, and cocoa on low speed for about 2 minutes. Or until the mixture is well combined (will look like wet sand). Next add in the extract, eggs and flour, one  at a time and mix well. The batter should be thick but free of lumps.

Bake in a non stick brownie pan (8 inches) for 20- 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_8937

Allow the brownies to cool and slice into small, decadent, fudgy, pepperminty brownies.

The brownies were rich and delicious and satisfied my peppermint fiends just fine. I would definitely make these again but take the time to make the green frosting in order to differentiate from the regular old brownies from the not so regular.

