Tags

, , ,

I decided to take advantage of this lovely NYC weather over the weekend and took mickey for a stroll in the park!

IMG_9113

She bolted off her leash and was rolling around in the leaves and dirt! Looks like I wasn’t the only one that was excited about the weather! Mickey just turned 6. Was looking at her old photos and cant believe how just yesterday I was brining Mickey home from the shelter

This was FOUR years ago!!! Crazy!

After our afternoon in the park, Diana mentioned a craving for spaghetti and meatballs… and then I was thinking of going out for some eggplant parmesan.

Reason kicked in and I decided to get my ass in the kitchen and make my own. I figured since I was making it at home, I should shave off a few fat grams and make it without frying. I mean, what harm could it do?

Exactly.

IMG_9122

Baked eggplant parmesan

1 Medium Eggplant

2 eggs

1 T parmesan cheese

1 t garlic

1 cup seasoned bread crumbs

16 oz of your favorite marinara sauce

3 cups shredded mozzarella

IMG_9129

I started by preheating the oven to 450*. Slice the eggplant, skin and all into 1/4 inch rounds. Set the eggplant aside.

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs and add garlic and parmesan. Dredge the eggplant into the eggs and then press into breadcrumbs. Make sure all sides are covered in breadcrumbs.

Lay the eggplant onto a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes, turning once after 12 minutes. Eggplant should be golden brown and slightly crispy.

IMG_9130 

Onto each eggplant slice, place a healthy dollop of marinara sauce on top. Then sprinkle with mozzarella.

IMG_9135

Pop the eggplant back in the oven for 10 minutes until the cheese is melted.

IMG_9134

I, personally enjoyed the eggplant as it was with a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan cheese. But this would be great on a crisp baguette or under a bed of pasta.

Happy Monday!

