If there is one thing I dread more than anything ever in my adult life, it has got to be MOVING.

In about 2 weeks, I will be moving from my very first apartment in Queens and into my own place in Brooklyn. I am returning to the Motherland. Its so amazing and exciting but dreadful and terrifying at the same time.

Packing 4 years worth of stuff is having a strange effect on me. Surely, I have moved before but the act of packing an entire apartment’s worth of stuff leaves me overwhelmed. I have the benefit of starting early but I feel like it only fuels my anxiety.

*sigh* so most of my posts from here on out are going to be me attempting to clean out the food supply in my fridge. I apologize in advance.

DSC03940

Needing to utilize the cauliflower in the fridge I decided on a cauliflower smash. To make things more interesting, I added some potatoes to it to give it that mashed potato flavor without all the potato calories.

Ingredients:

1 large head of cauliflower

2 large potatoes

2 T butter

1/4 cup milk

salt and pepper

DSC03941

I boiled the cauliflower and potatoes until they were fork tender, for about about 8 –10 minutes. When they were done, I strained them and added them to a big pot. I added butter, salt and milk and using a smasher, went to town making the soft veggies into a mush.

Its quick and easy… and on the healthier side.

The boy was coming over for dinner to help me clean and start packing and brought some vino:

DSC03958

There is always wine around these days.

DSC03957

So I whipped some pan roasted salmon (seasoned simply with salt and pepper), a side of cauliflower smash and a side salad with sun dried tomato vinaigrette.

Pretty boring.

I hope there is more excitement to come… after my anxiety attack over packing up and moving to Brooklyn.

No Sleep till Brooklyn!

