Tags

, ,

Along with some of my leftovers in the freezer, I have an abundance of photos from projects I didn’t get to post right away. So, back around Easter… yeah… EASTER, I raided the drug store candy aisles for cheap peeps. I bought some clearance easter candies and when a week passed without consumption, I thought I would attempt to make use out of them in a dessert.

At First I decided on cookies…but then I had more easter candy to get rid of and saved the other candy for the disaster cookies. So, staring at the peeps the first thing that came to mind were brownies. I sought my favorite brownie recipe and just added the peeps to the brownies.

Ingredients

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups sugar
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (natural or Dutch-process)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cold large eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 packages Peeps DSC03923

So, melt the butter and beat with the sugar on medium in a stand mixer for 1 minute. Set the mixer on low and slowly add in cocoa powder, salt, vanilla, eggs, and flour.

DSC03924

Once the ingredients are well blended, after about 5 minutes or so, turn off the mixer and fold in the peeps that have been cut up.

DSC03925

Place the batter in a square pan sprayed with non stick cooking spray. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350*.

DSC03926

Its done when a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

After it has cooled, cut into 16 pieces.

The coworkers were recipients of the Peeple’s Brownies and from what I hear, were quite good. I seem to have lost my touch in the kitchen these days… must be all the packing I am doing.

Smile

Stay tuned for the worst batch of cookies I have ever seen.

