Tags

, ,

Help! I am drowning in boxes!

Well, I am still packing and still burning through my supply of food. Dude, my freezer seems like its never ending despite all the food I have been cooking. Some of it has been really mundane. Chicken. Vegetables. Lean Cuisines (shhh. don’t tell anyone). And most recently, a Pernil!

That got me excited!

For me, there is no greater comfort than some home cooked spanish food. Especially when it is nearly effortless.

Traditionally, pernil is cooked low and slow in the oven. But ever since I read a blog post on slow cooking a pernil, I have never even attempted to cook it in the oven. At first, if you remember, I was like “Whoa! You can’t put a pernil in the slow cooker!!” but I assure you- you can. And now I will never cook it any other way.

DSC03949

The pernil I got was only 3 lbs which was perfect for me the boyf, plus leftovers for lunch.

Ingredients

1 pernil (3-4 lbs)

1 packet sazon con achiote

1 Tsp salt

DSC03950

Directions:

Trim the pernil of all visible fat (you can roast the skin as a treat for yourself  your dog). Season the pernil liberally with sazon and salt. Let sit overnight in the fridge.

Place the pernil in a 4 qt slow cooker the following day and cook on low for 8 hrs or on high for 4.

DSC03952

The result? Meat that fell off the bone! I placed a fork in it and  it literally fell apart.

Success.

The spices I used are more traditional, but some people get very serious about their seasoning. I am not trying to go grocery shopping so I used what I had. It came out very tasty. Also, if you really wanted to kick the flavor up a notch, stabbing the pernil and shoving raw garlic cloves into the stab wounds works well.

DSC03951

The best way to carve the pernil is to use two forks to shred the meat like pulled pork. Reserve some of the drippings to pour onto the meat for flavor and texture.

DSC03953

I served mine with a side of yellow rice.

Off to pack some more while Mickey takes a nap (lucky!).

