Tags

, ,

I spied my roommate standing in the kitchen and making her own ground pork some months ago. It baffled me as she sat there with her chef knife and mincing pork into ground meat. The reason for this is because ground pork is kind of hard to find at our local grocery store.

Last week while on my way home from work, my train was suddenly out of service and I was left having to take an entirely new route home. On the way I saw a supermarket that I rarely frequented and remembered that I needed a few non perishables (I am trying not to buy any additional groceries due to the move). So, as always, my intention was to buy only what I needed when I passed by the butcher section.

Lo and behold.

Ground pork.

I picked it up and didn’t really have a plan other than burgers. And the boy is such a meat and potatoes guy that I thought it was perfect.

DSC03831

I had some manchego cheese and decided it would taste great in the burgers. So, I shredded the cheese. Its hard to shred such delicious cheese and not shove handfuls into my mouth…

don’t act like its just me.

So, I kind of just made this recipe up as I went along. I didn’t receive any complaints and no one died so I think we might have a winner.

DSC03832

Pork Manchego Burgers (makes 4 patties)

Ingredients:

1 lb ground pork

1/4 lb manchego cheese, shredded

1 tsp smoked paprika

handful of spanish olives stuffed with pimentos, chopped

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

salt

olive juice (optional)

Directions:

Combine the pork, cheese, paprika, breadcrumbs, olives and a pinch of salt and fold by hand. The mixture felt a little dry so I added a splash of the liquid from the jar of spanish olives.

DSC03833

Form the meat into 4 equal sized patties. As you shape the burger patties, leave a dent in the center of the burger with your thumb to allow the burger to plump without losing shape.

I used a grill pan over medium high heat and allowed each side to cook for 4-5  minutes.

DSC03834

I decided to make some sweet potato fries as well in the oven.

DSC03835

When the burgers were ready, I served them with a roasted peppper on a hamburger bun with a side of sweet potato fries.

