Since my last post, I have had a really rough weekend. For those that don’t know, the son of my oldest friend passed away just weeks shy of his 7th birthday. I have known heartache in my life but I have never felt grief the way I did for the death of Josia. After a few days of reflection, and a lot of support from friends and family, I feel a great sense of peace knowing Josia no longer has to suffer and is in a better place. Thank you to all who reached out to me for those awesome words of encouragement!

**********

While wandering the aisles of the grocery store, I came across a huge pack of chicken wings and it made me think of Diana. When Diana was my roommate, she used to make chicken wings covered in hoisin sauce that not only made heavenly smells in the apartment but were so addicting to eat. I decided to get the wings and try to replicate them.

DSC03972

Asian BBQ Chicken Wings serves 4

12 chicken wings

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp ginger

2 T soy sauce

2 T sesame oil

She told me she used hoisin so I just “winged” it from there (seewhatididthere?).

Start by marinating the chicken wings in an airtight container or freezer bag with the hoisin sauce, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and sesame oil and let marinate in the fridge for at least 2 hrs. I let mine marinate for 1 day.

Right before cooking, preheat oven to 400*. Place the wings on a cookie sheet lined with foil (makes for easy cleanup). Bake wings for 40-45 minutes or until wings are fully cooked.

 DSC03976

To go with the wings as they cooled, I prepared some frozen mixed veggies.

DSC03973

My friend Jen’s husband made this for me when I visited their new apartment. He took a pack of frozen mixed vegetables, added a pat of butter and some sugar into a pan and stir fried the veggies until they were heated through. Such a unique dish. I usually use frozen vegetables for pot pies but this was a nice and effortless side dish.

DSC03974

And to keep things fresh, I made some slaw. I was originally going for an asian slaw but I wasn’t crazy about the recipe, so I scrapped it and went with what I knew. Fresh shredded cabbage, julienne red pepper slices and carrots with a huge spoon of mayo, salt and a small spoon of mango chutney.

But here is the asian slaw recipe:

1/2 head of cabbage, shredded

1/2 red bell pepper, julienne

1 carrot, shredded

1.5 tsp oil

1.5 tsp sesame oil

1 T cider vinegar

2 T soy sauce

Juice from 1 lime

1/2 t sugar

1/2 t crushed red pepper

Directions: in a small bowl, whisk together the oil, vinegar, soy sauce, lime juice, sugar and red pepper. when its well combined, pour over shredded cabbage, pepper and carrots and fold until well incorporated. Serve immediately.

DSC03977

It was great.

And then I got tired of chicken wings.

Smile

