Tags

, ,

Not long ago, we had a mini baby shower at the office for my good friend Karen. When they started the collections for her gift, they asked me if I would be willing to bake something. And when someone asks me to bake, I rarely say no.

It was days before my move and I was in “clean out the kitchen” mode. I had a few bananas that I bought on a whim and they were expiring quickly so I decided to make banana cupcakes. After some research, I thought my tried and true banana bread recipe, minus the chocolate chips would be perfect.

DSC04104

Banana cupcakes (makes 18-24)

3-4 medium bananas, ripened

1/3 cup butter, melted

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 Tbsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

1 1/2 cups flour

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350*.

Beat the bananas around in the stand mixer until thoroughly smushed. While the mixer is on low, slowly add in the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla and cinnamon. When the ingredients are well incorporated into a thick banana batter, add the baking soda, salt and flour. Allow the flour to be fully mixed in with the bananas.

In a lined muffin tin, fill the tins 1/3 way full and bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes. When toothpick inserted comes out clean, toothpicks are done.

Allow the cupcakes to cool so you can get started on the frosting.

When I was looking for the right frosting for these cupcakes, I found a Martha recipe for a cinnamon honey frosting but it was a buttercream and I wanted a cream cheese frosting. So I combined the buttercream frosting with my cream cheese frosting.

Cinnamon Honey Frosting

1 8 oz block of cream cheese, softenend

2 sticks of unsalted butter, softenened

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tbsp honey

1 tsp cinnamon

2 cups powdered sugar

Directions: Using a stand mixer, beat the cream cheese with a paddle attachment until its smooth and creamy without any lumps. About 2 minutes on low. Add the butter and mix in on low until lump free. keep the mixer on and add in vanilla, honey, cinnamon, and sugar one at a time until it is smooth and creamy.

DSC04105

Spread the frosting on a cupcake and take a big bite!

My coworkers were really happy with these and I must say, these have become my favorite cupcakes and I just made a batch for my mother!

Next time your bananas get a little too spotty for your liking, make some banana cupcakes with honey cinnamon frosting! perfect for the summer!

