Tags

, , , , ,

While I was packing my kitchen up, I came across a little booklet in the “menu” drawer of a weekly dinner plan. I opened it up and remembered how I began planning my meals to save money. One of the first things I made from that list was from the Rachael Ray magazine. A Bacon and Egg Quesadilla.

Drawing some inspiration from there, I decided to make a sausage and egg quesadilla. The only thing I forgot to add was cheese but it still works without it.

DSC04045

Ingredients: (makes 6 quesadillas)

1 lb spicy sausage (casings removed)

6 fried eggs

6 (8”) whole wheat tortillas

1 avocado

salsa (optional)

 

Directions: I decided to make the sausage into patties to make life easier.

Form the sausage into patties and cook through. Once cooked, assemble the quesadilla by placing the sausage on one half of the tortilla, place the fried egg on top, and top with  sliced avocado.

DSC04046

Fold in half and using a pan, toast it up.

DSC04047

Normally, one would place cheese in the quesadilla… this is the glue that keeps it together.

DSC04048

And I realized that while I was trying to seal up the quesadilla…and while it got toasty, it didn’t stay shut.

DSC04053

So I decided to fold it like a burrito and toast it

DSC04056

And the results were waaaaaaay better.

This is quite filling. And so simple! I kind of ate this for a week straight.

Could you blame me though???

