Tags

,

The most difficult part of the packing for me came when I had to pack up my kitchen. 4 years of stuff crammed into cabinets, drawers and closets. I kissed a lot of appliances goodbye. I didn’t even have time to see them.

But what made life just a TINY bit easier was cooking everything in the apartment. I didn’t want the burden of moving perishables. Especially when I wasn’t sure when I would be getting my fridge and stove (I haz it now).

DSC04096DSC04097

The things that kept me going through the daunting tasks of packing were straight up comfort food.

No brainers.

Just edible food that I could prepare in minutes.

My guilty pleasure, Annie’s white cheddar and cheese shells were lonely. And as I was about to prepare them, I saw a can of artichoke hearts that looked lonely too.

So, I decided to doctor up my mac and cheese to make a spinach artichoke mac n cheese.

It wasn’t so difficult:

2 boxes of White Cheddar mac and cheese

1 10 oz container of chopped frozen spinach (cooked and drained well)

1 can of artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

1/8 tsp garlic powder

2 heaping tablespoons cream cheese.

DSC04100

Prepare the macaroni and cheese as directed on the box. When the pasta is cooked and drained, add the cheese, artichokes, garlic, and cream cheese. Fold the mixture ensuring that its all mixed well.

Pour shells and cheese into a baking dish, top with bread crumbs if you like, and bake uncovered for 25-30 minutes at 375*.

DSC04093DSC04094

To go with my doctored up mac, I prepared some chicken cutlets that were dredged in italian bread crumbs.

DSC04101

My mom used to always make fried chicken cutlets for me when I was growing up. At some point, she stopped because she learned it was unhealthy (shakes fist!).  That, combined with the comfort of mac and cheese, this was heaven.

Then, of course came the chore of finding a place to put the food on moving day. Luckily, my dad handled that. Word on the street is, he didn’t come up for air. Guess Im not the only one who misses mom’s chicken cutlets.

