It’s July. When you think of July, what comes to mind?

Summer.

BBQ.

Fun.

But one does not think of getting sick in July. And here I sit on a gorgeous day. Stuffy nose. Fever. Sore throat. In bed. Sipping hot soup. I can’t even fathom how this happens. But I am on my way to some sort of normal. Lots of fluids. Lots of vitamin C.

…and when necessary, comfort food.

I wanted Fried Chicken.

DSC04059

Within Reason of course.

Feeling sick, standing over the stove frying chicken isn’t the best thing. I opted to oven fry the chicken. (I sometimes keep a stash of boxed oven fry chicken mix for days like this. Found in the bread aisle or in my moms kitchen)

DSC04060

It’s the simplest method. Bread the chicken and bake at 425 for 70-90 minutes  or until the chicken is cooked.

DSC04063

The chicken is crunchy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Like fried chicken minus all the oil.

DSC04061

I added some broccoli to a boxed mac and cheese for volume. And some oven fried chicken.

Leftovers rule!

Back to soup for now.

Have a happy and healthy day kiddos!

