Tags

Really starting to feel comfortable back in my old stompin grounds in Williamsburg. I really wanted to make it feel like old times by having brunch. One of my favorite things to do when I lived in BK was hit up a local brunch spot. In the last 4 years that I have been away, so many places have popped up in the most unlikely of places. It excites me to see the place I love growing and changing.

It also means, more places for me to try! How exciting and overwhelming at the same time.

IMAG1611

After doing a little research, I decided on  Le Barricou on Grand Street. What led me to Le Barricou was not only their high yelp rating, but its close proximity to my apartment, as well as the fact that it was a French Bistro. French is one my favorite cuisines.

IMAG1610

The time to get to Le Barricou is around 11am and 12 pm on a Sunday. After that, it can get crowded.

When we got there, I immediately fell in love with the décor. It was very french country, lots of sunlight and very simple artwork. It felt so comfortable.

I had spied the menu earlier and made plans to order the Croissant with goat cheese and spinach but we were given a chocolate and butter croissant as we were seated. I thought it was a good time to change my plans since I had two delicious croissants already in front of me.

IMAG1612

but before I ordered anything else, I needed some coffee. Kudos to the mason jars. I am a sucker for mason jars. The coffee was strong and refreshing.

IMAG1613

My guest and I decided to select two dishes to share. She chose the Croque Madame with a fried egg and frittes. The croque Madame is like a grilled cheese with smoked ham and cheddar. A lovely meal if you are hungover.

IMAG1614

I opted for the special of the day which was a quiche lorraine. It was a honking slab of quiche. My only gripe was the lack of bacon. They used ham. It definitely changed the flavor of the quiche. I ate it anyway but probably wouldn’t order it again.

All in all, it was a great first brunch in Brooklyn. Cant wait to see what else Brooklyn has to offer!

