Last week, at the very last minute, I was invited to a Sweet 16. The birthday girl was once small enough to hold in my arms; and once upon a time, I did hold her when she was a teeny tiny baby. Time Flies. We are like distant cousins and when she extended the invite to attend her sweet 16, I was very honored. And then it hit me. I haven’t been to a sweet 16 since my own.

yiiikes.

The birthday girl, Angelie, had an “Alice and Wonderland” theme, complete with amazing colors and cute little touches.

I was absolutely in love with the hall that was sundrenched and bathed in baby blue. With the bright walls, the baby blue touches everywhere were amazing.

DSC04111

The tablescapes were another favorite of mine. But I think most of this stems from my giant crush on the colors baby blue and pink… also my two favorite flowers in the vase. Hydrangea and Roses.

DSC04112

Tiny little cupcakes waited on each table. There were caramel apple cupcakes and raspberry cheesecake cupcakes. I had the latter. and It was delicious.

DSC04113

The table for Angelie gave me chills. I was so in love with it all. My Sweet 16 was very small and intimate and not at all a lavish affair. But it was very special. And being there just made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

DSC04117

In my company were my two adorable nieces and my handsome nephew. AKA the party animals. If there was any question of whether or not we are related, throwing these kids on a dance floor confirms that the rhythmic genes are strong!

DSC04123

A lovely pic of me with my mother and sis. Love this pic.

And then for the first time ever, and perhaps this has to do with the fact that I’m an adult now and I see things differently but when Angelie made her grand entrance, I got so choked up. Then there was a shoe ceremony where her father had to change her ballet slippers to high heels. I bawled like a baby. Then her mother fixed her crown.

Just when I thought I had the waterworks under control, father and daughter shared a dance. They danced to Bob Carlysle’s Butterfly Kisses. Lyrics below.

There’s two things I know for sure
She was sent here from heaven
And she’s daddy’s little girl
As I drop to my knees by her bed at night
She talks to Jesus and I close my eyes
And I thank God for all of the joy in my life
Oh but most of all

For butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer
Stickin’ little white flowers all up in her hair
Walk beside the pony daddy it’s my first ride
I know the cake looks funny daddy but I sure tried

Oh with all that I’ve done wrong
I must have done something right
To deserve a hug every mornin’
And butterfly kisses at night

Sweet 16 today
She’s lookin’ like her mama a little more every day
One part woman the other part girl
To perfume and make up from ribbons and curls
Trying her wings out in a great big world
But I remember

Butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer
Stickin’ little white flowers all up in her hair
You know how much I love you daddy
But if you don’t mind
I’m only gonna kiss you on the check this time

Oh with all that I’ve done wrong
I must have done something right
To deserve her love every mornin’
And butterfly kisses at night

All the precious time
Like the wind the years go by
Precious butterfly
Spread your wings and fly

She’ll change her name today
She’ll make a promise and I’ll give her always
Standing in the bride room just staring at her
She asked me what I’m thinkin’
And I said I’m not sure
I just feel like I’m losin’ my baby girl
And she leaned over

Gave me butterfly kisses with her mama there
Stickin’ little white flowers all up in her hair
Walk me down the isle daddy
It’s just about time
Does my wedding gown look pretty daddy?
Daddy’s don’t cry

Oh with all that I’ve done wrong
I must have done something right
To deserve her love every mornin’
And butterfly kisses

I couldn’t ask God for more than this is what love is
I know I’ve got to let her go but I’ll always remember
Every hug in the mornin’ and butterfly kisses

And after all the crying we pepped things up a little. Danced a bit. Then ate.

The catering hall, Betty’s Catering is a Dominican establishment.

There was an abundance of spanish fare. Pernil. Rice. Ensalada de pulpo. etc. And I am usually sorely disappointed with the food at catering halls but there were more plusses than minuses! Miracle I tell ya.

The cake was gorgeous. Nice clean lines and not an abundance of flowers. Best of all, no fondant!

It was a dominican cake. Dominican cake is by far my favorite type of cake when it comes to events like these. Its sweet, its moist, and its something that I am dying to make! (note to self. make dominican cake).

During the cake eating, the birthday girl changed into a gorgeous party outfit and then we really let our hair down.

Such a great party that made me warm and fuzzy, weepy and sweaty all at the same time.

It was a great event and I was so honored to be a guest at the intimate Sweet 16. Happy Sweet 16 Angelie!

