Tags

, , ,

Long, long ago, way before I was a little Food Snob, I remember meeting my mother after a job interview gone awry Downtown Brooklyn. Her solution was dinner at her favorite Italian restaurant. The name of the restaurant escapes me but knowing that it has been at least 10 years since I have been here, its kind of remarkable that I still think of this place. I remember sitting in the restaurant. A humble place with deep family roots. My mother told me to try her favorite dish so I went with mom’s recommendation.

Rigatoni Las Vegas.

Rigatoni with peas and vodka sauce. Doesn’t sound amazing but the combination was addicting. The pop of the peas as I bit into them. The meatiness in the vodka sauce from pieces of prosciutto in the sauce. And the al dente bite from the rigatoni.

To think that it has been this long is astounding. I have always thought “I can totally make this” and the other day while shopping at the HUGE supermarket I saw a bag of frozen peas.

And then the rest is history.

Since I do not have a microwave my newest challenge is cooking for one so I can always enjoy a freshly cooked meal.

IMG_9432

Rigatoni Las Vegas (for one)

Ingredients:

1/4  cup frozen peas

1/2 cup vodka sauce (I have been using this one for years but store bought is fine too)

1 cup dry rigatoni

1 cooked (and seasoned) Chicken breast*, sliced

Parmesan Cheese

IMG_9433

* I precooked the chicken breast. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, and a touch of garlic powder. I kept it sliced in the fridge and ready to go.

Method: You will need a small frying pan and a medium pot of boiling water.

IMG_9441

When the water was boiling, I cooked my pasta. As the pasta is cooking, heat your vodka sauce in the fry pan with the peas over a low heat. Stir frequently. The instructions on the bag said to cook for 8-10 minutes. By minute 7, I drained the pasta and added it to the peas and sauce.

IMG_9439

I let the rigatoni get covered in sauce and added the chicken. Allow it to heat through for 5 minutes or until hot.

IMG_9434

Serve.

Sprinkle with parmesan Cheese.

Its so simple but its kind of becoming a favorite dish of mine. The thing I love most about this is how quickly it comes together. And I love how I have been dreaming of making this for years.

Food is awesome that way.

