Tags

, , ,

I am zapped.

With this heat and humidity in NYC, I am definitely losing my cool. During the weekends, I find solace in the local pool. But during the week, I foolishly keep busy and neglect a very important element: H2O. Its important to remember that when the temperatures soar, you should up your water intake.

Simple tips that have been around since forever and I still go on about my days neglecting to increase my water intake.

cue dehydration. The thing that totally ruined me was when I had the opportunity to hydrate, I chose an ice cold beer. I was sunburned. Already at the peak of needing replenishment and then I done did it. a freaking beer. I can’t recap the entire experience without cold sweats but imagine being the most thirsty you have ever been, drinking an ice cold water and minutes later involuntarily purging the thing you wanted so badly to make you feel better.

Two days later and I am getting my coconut water, gatorade and water fill and vow never to let that happen again. No matter how much I have going on, I will stop to hydrate! I have also slept quite a bit and no matter how much I sleep, I still feel like I could sleep for days.

I decided to rely on an oldie but goodie with a few tweaks for dinner since I was too out of it to look at the old recipe.

Sausage and Lentil Stew adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking (Makes 4-6 servings)

IMG_9483

Ingredients

1 lb of spicy turkey sausage (casings removed)

1 cup of dry green lentils

1 can of diced tomatoes

3 cups of chicken broth

1/8th tsp garlic powder

1/8th tsp onion powder

1 bay leaf

salt to taste

5 oz fresh spinach (saved for the last 30 minutes of cooking)

IMG_9485 

directions:

Over a medium flame, cook the sausage thoroughly making sure to break it apart as you go. When it is fully cooked, transfer the crumbles to the slow cooker.

Add the rest of the ingredients for the exception of the spinach.

IMG_9496

Cook on low for 8 hrs or on high for 4 hours. With 30 minutes remaining, crank the slow cooker on high and add the spinach.

download (25)

I served mine with coconut rice but this stew is great on its own. I shared this with my new neighbor (my mom) and she thickened hers with tomato paste and poured it over pasta.

Its versatile and its nearly effortless. Perfect for when you recover from a bout of dehydration.

