Tags

, ,

For a while, I hit a dry spell. I was having a really hard time finding things to cook. I really really miss Fresh Direct because now, every weekend, I am subject to trips to the supermarket. I have to deal with people. Waaaah.

But at the same time, it gives me an opportunity to stretch my legs. It gives me a chance to pick out fresh fruit, to pick the things I want to pick, but it also leads to a lot of impulse buys.

IMG_9538

Like this whole chicken. Walking in the butcher section of the supermarket I saw that whole chickens were on sale. I had no plan for chicken but in the cart it went. It sat in the freezer for a week or so when I had saw someone had a frozen pot pie in the office fridge. And I immediately knew that chickens destiny was pot pie. But what I hate about pot pies are how the filling spills out everywhere when you take that first slice. It sucks.

In a mood to get myself eating better, I sought some guidance from a great source for healthy recipes.  And found a recipe for individual pot pies! I love this idea! I freaking love it! One, perfect portions! two, no mess when you cut into the pie! and three, I bought 4 ramekins last year because they were .50 cents each and now have the perfect reason to use them!

IMG_9542

Yes! So, I purchased all the ingredients to make my individual pot pies and then… while coming home from a long day at the pool came home starving. I decided to make the pot pies but misplaced the recipe. So, with the original recipe in my mind, I had drawn inspiration from the first ever chicken pot pie I ever made.

It’s a cheaters method.

shhhh.

When I had the chicken pot pie on my radar, I decided to roast it. Since that takes a while, I could cook it ahead, carve it and then make my individual pot pies. So, I seasoned the chicken with garlic, onion, salt and pepper and roasted it on 425 for 70 minutes. I let it rest for 30 minutes before carving it and putting it away.

IMG_9544

I prefer chicken breast in my pot pie, but to each his own Smile

IMG_9545

So, back to coming home starving. I had promised mom and dad some pot pie too! So I got to work. I chopped up fresh carrots and celery and added some frozen peas. You cant have pot pie without peas, right?

I decided to dump all the veggies in a pot and pre cook them to save time in the oven. So I simmered the veggies in a can of cream of chicken. *gasp*.

IMG_9549

When the carrots softened, I spooned the mixture back into the ramekins and added the chopped up chicken breast.

IMG_9551

For the crust, I used Pilsbury reduced fat flaky biscuit dough. And placed it on top. I have come to find the best method is just letting the biscuit sit on top of the ramekin, not all stretched out like above.

These babies baked on a cookie sheet at 425* for 15-18 minutes.

IMG_9555

The results were TASTY.

IMG_9554

Mom and dad gobbled up in delight. It was a nice change of pace and it was a great start to getting my groove back in the kitchen… even if I cheated a little.

Wanna make some too?

what you will need:

4  6 oz ramekins

2 chicken breasts, fully cooked and roughly chopped

1 can of 98% fat free cream of mushroom

1 carrot, diced

2 ribs of celery, diced

1 cup frozen peas

4 pilsbury reduced fat flaky biscuit

(If you want a from scratch recipe, try this one. It’s a great way to control the sodium and quality of your ingredients)

IMAG1786

Here is Round 2, where I placed the dough the right way. Still good! 

