Tags

, , ,

I discovered a very interesting aisle in my grocery store last weekend. An aisle very close to the produce section. Dried spices, like star anise, jars of jerk seasoning, bottles of the cheapest coconut oil I have ever seen, and bags upon bags of grains and flours. But not just regular old grains and flour, soy flour, rice flour, etc, etc. All for amazing prices. I have no idea what the deal is with those prices… but I was in heaven.

IMG_9671

I picked up this bag of bulgur. Its pretty hefty. Especially for $3.99. It’s a lot like quinoa or cous cous and the nutritional content is pretty great. For that price, what harm could it do if I didn’t love it?

I did some research and found that bulgar makes a great warm side or a light salad of sorts. When I came home to my beautiful basil plant that is thriving right now, I was reminded of a salad I had at a party. It was light yet robust in flavor. And the basil was definitely looking to be my muse.

IMG_9675

I decided to incorporate the basil into the bulgur with some feta cheese that had no purpose in my fridge. (please note the pool outside my window! Oh Brooklyn, I love you) I snipped a few basil leaves off of my plant and got to work.

IMG_9672

Ingredients:

3/4 cup dry bulgur

1 cup chicken broth

6 basil leaves, sliced

1/2 cup fat free/red. fat/ regular feta cheese

2 T olive oil

juice of 1/2 a lemon

fresh black pepper, to taste

IMG_9676

Prepare bulgur by bringing chicken broth to a boil. Once it boils, add bulgur, remove from flame and cover. Let sit covered for 5 minutes.

I love chopping basil. So I did that while the bulgur was cooking.

IMG_9679

When the bulgur was done, I fluffed it with a fork.

IMG_9680

It’s a lot like cous cous.

IMG_9681

Then I combined all of the ingredients and tossed.

IMG_9682

I really loved this. It was nice and light. Had a lot of flavor and was a great healthy side dish. I paired it with a mango lemon chicken (post coming soon).

This salad tastes great warm but I did eat it cold the following day because I don’t have a micro.

With regards to bulgur, I like it. It will become part of my regular rotation.

