Tags

So, I mentioned last week about signing up to participate in the Foodie Penpal program and while I received some really awesome goodies, I got to send some stuff to my own penpal. Summer, a healthy living blogger from Florida writes a blog after her own namesake and inspires with her plant based diet and clean eating.

I wanted to meet the challenge to send her things that were new and within her dietary requirements. She gave me permission to bend the rules a little but I wanted to meet my challenge.

While scouring my favorite blogs, I came across something that was new to me and definitely within the requirements of a clean eating vegan. Chocolate Covered Katie’s Blueberry Ketchup seemed like a winner to me. I never really loved ketchup because it makes everything taste like… ketchup! lol. And I am one that appreciates flavors. If I put ketchup on anything other than crispy french fries, something is amiss.

But I trust CCK. She proved herself to me via her Vegan Cinnamon Roll Pie that made me lust after chick peas and cinnamon. So, I picked up the ingredients and got to work.

IMG_9656

Blueberry Ketchup

2 c blueberries
4 tsp minced garlic
1/4 c red wine balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp dry ginger
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 packs nunaturals stevia or 2 T brown sugar

IMG_9657

I made a few alterations according to what I had on hand.

All the ingredients go right into the pot to simmer for 25 minutes.

IMG_9658

Because I had never made this before, I didn’t know what I was looking for. But it smelled like salad dressing.

IMG_9659

The colors were absolutely stunning.

IMG_9661

When the ketchup was done simmering, I used a potato smasher to squish some of the berries in hopes that it would smooth out. And because I was shipping this, I decided to boil it in water for 15 minutes for safety’s sake.

IMG_9660

I was super excited about this! I tried a little on my finger tip and thought “not bad”. It wasn’t until after I had shipped the ketchup that I tried it and realized how epic of a fail it was.

For me, anyway.

I crossed my fingers because while I didn’t love this blueberry ketchup, some of my friends surely did… Summer was not a fan. But I appreciated her honesty. And if we are all being honest…

I hated it. Sad smile

