Tags

, , , , ,

My days of blogging have been few and far in between. I have been cooking ferociously in the kitchen but I have been distracted. I never forget to whip out my camera and take a pic of what I am cooking in my kitchen but with regards to sitting down and writing, I have been very naughty. So many new things going on!
I bid summer a proper farewell. It was a little depressing but as I say goodbye to humidity and long days, I prepare to welcome fall. Sweaters. Scarves. Hats. Soups and Stews! While I’m not completely ready for a steamy bowl of soup, I am slowly making the transition. This summer, I have made a fair share of burgers. And why not? Burgers are a great blank canvas. You can jazz up any burger and change its flavor profile with a few easy to find ingredients.
I always have ground turkey in the freezer. I feel it’s a staple. If in a bind, you can make a turkey burger, turkey meatloaf or even turkey Bolognese in little to no time at all and have a satisfying dish.
Inspired by an archived recipe from cooking light, I made an Asian style turkey burger. And since turkey is already light, I wanted to lighten this up even further by ditching the bun and swapping it for some crunchy iceberg lettuce leaves.

 IMG_9687
Ingredients:
1 lb lean ground turkey
¼ cup chopped scallions
¼ cup dry breadcrumbs
2 T hoisin sauce
1 t ground ginger
¼ t soy sauce
8 iceberg lettuce leaves
 
IMG_9693

Directions:
Combine ground turkey, scallions, breadcrumbs, hoisin, ginger, and soy sauce in a large bowl. Fold ingredients together until they are well incorporated into the turkey. Divide the mixture into 4 equal portions.

IMG_9696

Roll the portions (about 4 oz each) into a large ball and then flatten to a ½ inch thick patty.

IMG_9698
Prepare grill or broiler, or in my case, grill pan. Cook on non-stick grill pan for 5 minutes on each side. If using a George Foreman, cook uninterrupted for 5-8 minutes or until juices run clear.

IMG_9700
Wrap burger in two slices of iceberg lettuce and dig in!IMG_9702
 
I primarily make burgers and have them for lunch, but paired with a side salad or some roasted veggies (like sugar snap peas or grilled bok choy) this makes for a great and filling dinner!

(via Instagram)

