Tags

, , , , ,

For anyone that knows me personally, they know that I was never a fan of citrus elements in savory dishes. I can’t explain it but I would look at a lemon being squirted on a chicken and think “that’s just wrong”. And the flavor just didn’t appeal to my taste buds. For a long time, I shunned orange beef and lemon chicken… just because I could. But did you know that every 7 years, your taste buds change?
I kind of knew but never tested it. I mean, how many of you have snuck a taste of mom’s champagne on New Year’s Eve and remember the bitter taste and the burn down your throat when you were little? And now as a full-fledged adult can guzzle the now sweet bubbly stuff by the bottle? I know that’s not just me.
But time changes you. And as I continue my food-obsessed journey, I find myself craving new things and things I probably never thought I would want.
The Apricot-Lemon Chicken is a perfect example.
While searching for a light chicken dish I came across this recipe in an old Oxmoor House magazine and salivated at the sight. The combination of curry and apricot sounded so balanced with a touch of lemon that I bookmarked it and prepped for it. I made it for dinner and didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.
 
Ingredients:
1 t curry powder
½ t salt
¼ t freshly ground black pepper
Cooking spray
1/3 cup apricot spread (I used mango chutney)
2 T fresh lemon juice
2 T water
2 t grated lemon rind
 
Directions:

IMG_9662
Combine curry, salt and pepper in a small bowl and rub all over the chicken. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium high heat and coat with cooking spray.

IMG_9664

Cook the chicken for 6 minutes on each side. Set the chicken aside when it’s fully cooked. 

IMG_9665

Add mango chutney, lemon juice and water to the pan and whisk until smooth. Allow to simmer on low for 5 minutes.

IMG_9666

Pour the sauce over the chicken and sprinkle with lemon rind.

IMG_9669
 
Great flavors in this dish! I did substitute the apricot for the mango but I was very pleased with the outcome. I paired this dish with the bulgur salad with feta and basil. While I am not a total citrus convert, I am slowly getting used to the concept.

IMG_9683

