Tags

, , , ,

When I was in junior high school, or middle school, or secondary school, what have you, I remember fondly when a student brought in a dish for my homeroom teacher that she not only squealed about but loved so much that she devoured it in class. In front of us. Right before lunch.
It didn’t sound wonderful but watching her stuff her face with reckless abandon, I could not understand her excitement. Now, 18 years later (FML), I finally got around to making the dish that made my 6th grade teacher swoon.
Stuffed Cabbage.
How extremely weird is it that I have never had stuffed cabbage?
The inspiration came from a giant head of cabbage that my mother was trying to  get rid of. Normally, since the family is trying to be more health conscious, mom will slice up a cabbage and boil the leave with salt, pepper and a little olive oil. It’s pretty good but how much boiled cabbage can one eat? I got pretty tired of it. I sought a healthy version of stuffed cabbage and I am really happy to share this recipe after I made some tweaks to it.
 
Ingredients:
8 leaves of Savoy cabbage
½ lb lean ground beef
½ cups cooked bulgur
¼ cp seasoned breadcrumbs
1 medium carrot, grated
1 medium onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 large eggwhite
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp black pepper
1 28 oz jar of sweet basil and tomato sauce
 
Directions:
If you  have a microwave, wrap cabbage leaves in plastic wrap or moist paper towels and microwave on high for 2 minutes.

IMG_9837
If you are like me and don’t have a microwave, steam the cabbage leaves (I used my steamer but you can boil them for a few minutes) to soften them up. Cut out the spine of the leaf and set aside.

IMG_9838
In a medium bowl, combine the beef, bulgur, breadcrumbs, carrot, onion, garlic, egg white, salt and pepper.

IMG_9839

Combine until all the ingredients are well incorporated into the beef.

IMG_9840

Preheat the oven to 300*.
Spray and baking pan with cooking spray and spread ½ cup of sauce into the pan.
Place ¼ cup of the beef mixture into each cabbage leaf and roll up like a burrito. Fold two opposite ends in towards the center and then fold the bottom “lip” up and roll.

IMG_9843

Place the cabbage roll seam side down in the sauce. And repeat until there are no more cabbage leaves.  Pour the remaining sauce over the cabbage rolls, cover the pan with foil and bake for 2 hrs.

IMG_9850
A serving yields 2 rolls. I made this for lunch. It was a bit heavy for lunch. I recommend this for dinner with, perhaps a salad on the side.IMG_9851

