Tags

, , , ,

I am kind of addicted to Banh Mi. For those that don’t know what a Banh Mi is, it’s a Vietnamese style sandwich. Working in the Chinatown area of Manhattan, I am exposed to a great many Banh Mi shops and its hard to resist the cheap but oh-so-delicious sandwich. A crisp baguette with mayonnaise, with cucumbers, pickled daikon, cilantro, a slice of pate and a choice of meat (my preference: BBQ Pork).Its quite the combination. Its also quite the calorie blast. While searching for lunch time options, I came across this Banh Mi Style Burger from the Weight Watchers Archives. I made a few tweaks based on my own tastes but kept the basics.

Ingredients:

2 spray(s) cooking spray  
1 cup(s) packaged coleslaw mix (shredded cabbage and carrots)  
1/4 cup(s) English cucumber(s), julienned or sliced super thin  
1 Tbsp fresh lime juice, or to taste
  
1/4 tsp kosher salt  
1 pound(s) uncooked 93% lean ground turkey  
2 Tbsp cilantro, fresh, finely chopped  
1 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce  
1 Tbsp ginger root, grated or finely chopped  
2 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), finely chopped  
4 tsp reduced-calorie mayonnaise  
1 tsp chili sauce, sweet variety  
4 muffin(s) light English muffin, toasted  

Instructions
Coat a large griddle pan, or George Foreman Grill  with cooking spray; preheat to medium-high.
IMG_9792

In a medium bowl, combine slaw mix, cucumber, lime juice and salt; toss to coat and set aside. (I mixed my cole slaw with a little mayonnaise and mango chutney. It’s the only way I like my cole slaw.)

IMG_9793
In a large bowl, combine turkey, cilantro, soy sauce, ginger and garlic; divide mixture into four balls and then gently press each one into a 4-inch patty.

IMG_9794
In a small bowl, combine mayonnaise and chili sauce.
Grill until internal temperature of burgers reaches 165°F, about 4 to 5 minutes per side.

 IMG_9819
Spread half of each English muffin with 1 1/4 teaspoon chili-mayonnaise; top with a burger, a scant 1/3 cup slaw mixture and a muffin top. 1 burger per serving.

IMG_9821

I toasted the English muffin slightly to yield that crispy bite that I love so much from the classic Banh mi. The seasoning in the burger is on point and it’s a nice lunch item. A little difficult to assemble at the office but made for a great dinner, with a side of roasted kale chips. In my eagerness to devour this, I missed a few shots but rest assured, its quite unique and quite delicious.

