IMG_9872

It was a regular old Friday evening. Typically, my Friday nights are reserved for going out to dinner. A little something to look forward to at the end of a week. But with BR and I both coming feeling a little under the weather,  going out seemed too daunting. We ended up going to the supermarket to have a simple home cooked dinner.

BR thought it would be a great idea to have a spread of snacks with a DVD and skip the cooking.

It was really genius.

As a lover of food, this dinner of spicy grilled sausage, smoked gouda, sliced apples and a fresh baguette was simplistic and beautiful. We sat on the couch with this platter of some of our favorite things and watched Despicable Me.

Dining like this reminds of a passage in the book “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert:

“I…soft-boiled a pair of fresh brown eggs… I peeled the eggs and arranged them on a plate beside seven stalks of asparagus… I put some olives on the plate…and four knobs of goat cheese…two slices of pink, oily salmon. For dessert, – a lovely peach… For the longest time I couldn’t even touch this food because it was such a masterpiece of lunch, a true expression of [l’arte d’arrangiarsi] making something out of nothing. Finally, when I had fully absorbed the prettiness of my meal, I went and sat in a patch of sunbean on my clean wooden floor and ate every bite of it, with my fingers…Happiness inhabited my every molecule” -Elizabeth Gilbert, “Eat, Pray, Love” p 64

This is my friendly reminder that life is short and we should it enjoy it one bite at a time!

