Tags

, , , , ,

BR’s favorite thing to eat is Pizza. Having spent most of his lifeliving in the UK, he came to Brooklyn and fell in love with Brooklyn pizza. Anyone who has been to NY or had NY style pizza might know the hype. I think they say it’s the water. Whatever it may be, or wherever it comes from, BR loves him some pizza. He also loves politics. While I know jack shit about politics, I do know my fair share about pizza. When a fast food chain pulled a question for the Presidential Debate about whether our candidates prefer sausage or pepperoni on their pizza, it struck up a serious conversation with BR about things he loves. Pizza and his girlfriend. “What does Monique likes on her Pizza?”.

IMG_9958

I have created quite a name for myself in my kitchen (except when I’m making stuffed zucchini) and the man can cook but one thing he wanted to know was “if I order my girlfriend pizza, what does she want on it?”.
For as long as I can remember my favorite toppings for my pizza have been sausage, peppers and black olives. Him, Pepperoni. With the Presidential debate on TV, I figured the most appropriate thing to have for dinner was pizza. Pepperoni for him and my beloved peppers and olives.

Normally, I would prefer to make my own dough but let’s be honest, sometimes you just want to have the ready-made stuff. For some sustenance, I used a whole wheat pizza dough.

BR also prefers a thin crust. I fancy myself a deep-dish lover and after seeing LK’s take on Deep-Dish pizza at home, I was inspired to try my own!
BR’s Thin Crust Pepperoni Pizza with Smoked Mozzarella
Ingredients
¼ lb whole wheat pizza dough
½ cup sauce of your choice, I used a vodka sauce
¾ cup smoked mozzarella, shredded
¼ cup pepperoni
 IMG_9962
Using a pizza stone as my cooking vessel, I rolled out the pizza dough to roughly a 10 inch circle. When it was thin enough,

IMG_9964

I added the sauce leaving a ½ inch crust on the outer edge uncovered. Then I liberally sprinkled BR’s beloved smoked mozzarella on the pizza and covered with pepperoni.

IMG_9966

I baked the pizza at 500* for 10 minutes or until the crust was crisp. I sliced it into thin pizza triangles so I could steal a few.
 IMG_9973
For my Pizza, I followed LK’s recipe, which you can find here. But here is what I used:
¼ lb whole wheat pizza dough
½ cup vodka sauce
½ cup part skim mozzarella
1 bell pepper, sliced
A handful of black olives, sliced

IMG_9961
I also used a 9 inch cast iron skillet to cook it in.

IMG_9965

The result was a thick and crunchy slab of pizza.

IMG_9968
We watched the debate. We ate our pizza. And we laughed at all the meme’s on instagram.

IMG_9969

BR did the dishes.

