We survived the storm.

We rejoiced that we made it through unscathed.

And proceeded to wait. We waited for the damage reports. We waited for the power to come back on. But as I sit here, its still dark from 39th street Manhattan down to wall street. The trains have limited service. But nothing is going anywhere below 42nd street. Believe it or not, my area still has no trains running.

BR and I never thought we would say this….but we miss work. Its been a full work week and while we have been resting, we never fully realized how amazing our city is when we can hop on a train and be anywhere. Things like going to the movies or going out to eat are all made possible with public transportation. But at the same its forcing us to give business to our local entrepreneurs. We wait patiently for the lights to come back on in Manhattan.

Until then, we put Netflix and hulu to work.

IMG_0010

I really miss Pongsri’s Thai Red Coconut curry and BR was craving Roti. Both of those things are curry related so I thought this simmer sauce that I had lying around the house would make for a great home cooked meal.

IMG_0008

The simmer sauce, which I kept for emergencies, could not have been easier to put together. I added some raw chicken (as directions suggested) and simmered on the stove top for 30 minutes over a low heat. While that was simmering, I was steaming coconut rice and washing some spinach.

IMG_0009

To bulk up the stew, I added some spinach to it.

IMG_0013

When it was done, I served the coconut curry on top of the coconut rice and served. This was BR’s first coconut curry and he thinks that all curry should have a little coconut milk in it.

I kind of agree.

We send our appreciation to all that have reached out to us during this difficult time for the city. A great deal of people are in need and if you are in a position to make a donation of volunteer your time to those in need, I have provided helpful links below.

Stay safe and God Bless.

Red Cross Volunteer Application http://www.nyredcross.org/?nd=thank_you

The seven best places in NY to volunteer http://newyork.cbslocal.com/top-lists/the-7-best-places-to-volunteer-in-nyc/

Donate to Hurricane Sandy Relief http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations

Local Missions http://www.agrm.org/agrm/Hurricane_Sandy.asp

