Tags

, , ,

Things are somewhat getting back to normal here in NYC. The number of friends I have on Facebook volunteering for the Sandy Relief is heartwarming. At the same time, the number of “friends” I have on Facebook starting to complain about NYC life is typical.

The lines I see for people getting gas are unreal. While waiting in a long line at the supermarket, I overheard someone behind me saying “whoa, what a line! Are they selling gas here too?”. Surely, the “gas line” jokes will be one of those “you had to be there” ones. I also have heard some tales about getting gas. People pulling guns to skip lines and some of the more amazing tales of how people came thru for one another.

Its really just something to tell the grandchildren someday. As we continue to rebuild, we continue to resume normalcy. Hurricane Sandy has brought many of us the gift of new fat asses. Sitting at home for days with nothing to do but eat. I tried to keep the meals hearty and comforting. And with the temperatures starting to veer towards the “winter” season, I made a big pot of beefy chili.

IMG_0014

Ingredients

2 pounds lean ground beef
1 large onion, chopped (about 1 ½ cups)  bunch of scallions, sliced.
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 14 ½-ounce cans beef broth
1/3 cup chili powder
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 14 ½-ounce can diced tomatoes
2 15 ½-ounce cans kidney black beans, drained
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 green bell pepper, diced

IMG_0015

To allow the chili to simmer all day, I opted to use my slow cooker. I was feeling very grateful that we made it through the hurricane with only a flickering of our lights so using the slow cooker felt right.

I started by sauteeing the scallions over a tsp of extra virgin olive oil to release their aroma. About a minute over medium heat. Add the ground beef and cook through while breaking apart to make crumbles.

IMG_0016

When the beef is no longer pink, add it to the slow cooker with everything else in the ingredients. Set the cooker on low for 8-10 hrs or on high for 4 hrs.

This can easily be cooked on the stove top in a dutch oven over low heat for 2 hrs.

IMG_0017

I served my chili over white rice and a slab of buttery corn bread. But you can serve this with:

– Crusty Bread

– Baked potato

– French fries/tater tots

– corn bread

– Rice

-or just by itself!

It’s a great comfort dish that is easy to put together. It also freezes easily! I make a full batch and freeze half so somewhere down the line, I have an easy to reheat dinner.

