Tags

, ,

A very scary revelation has dawned upon me.

In less than 2 weeks, I will be *gulp* 29. Twenty-Freakin-Nine! My last birthday in my twenties! Last year I had a dim sum lunch followed by marathon downtown teas at my favorite bar with 20 of my favorite people. The Year before that I had a Karaoke party.

This is the first time in a long time that I celebrate my big day with a special guy. But now that I’m happy in my relationship I have no real desire to plan a party or anything. Is that normal? Its not a milestone or anything but I feel so torn. Its as if I will spend my last birthday in my twenties low key and then suddenly regret it. What a weird feeling to have.

I will say that so far, I have yet to regret anything. Life is about lessons and I embrace every opportunity to learn something. Perhaps this is what it feels like to have everything I want. Someone wonderful that cares about me as much as I care about them, a great apartment in a great neighborhood, a job, and a great network of friends!

Such random musings.

I guess what I am trying to say is, Life is short but sometimes, sitting back to enjoy it quietly is a good thing. And simple is even better. Finding this chicken and mushroom recipe made for a quick and simple dinner that was robust in flavor made for a beautiful evening. Bonus: It’s a weight watchers recipe.

Balsamic Chicken and Mushrooms

Ingredients (serves 4)

2 tsp Olive Oil
3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tsp dijon mustard
1 clove garlic crushed
1 pound chicken breasts ( 4- 4oz pieces)
1/3 cup chicken broth
1/4 tsp dried thyme

IMG_9796

In a nonstick skillet, heat 1 teaspoon of oil.

IMG_9800

In a medium bowl, mix 2 tablespoons of vinegar, the mustard and garlic. Add chicken and turn to coat.

Transfer chicken and marinade to skillet. Sauté chicken until cooked through, about 3 minutes on each side. Transfer chicken to a platter and keep warm.

IMG_9801

Heat remaining teaspoon of oil in skillet. Sauté mushrooms for 1 minute. Add broth, thyme and remaining tablespoon of vinegar. IMG_9802

Cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms are deep brown, about 2 minutes longer.

IMG_9807

Serve chicken topped with mushrooms.

IMG_9808

I enjoyed this with some fluffy quinoa. A great dish!

Honestly, can balsamic ever be bad on chicken???

MMM!

