Tags

, , ,

It was the first time in my entire life that I had legitimately lost my wallet. I went to the movies with my family. I had my wristlet in my hand and an armful of snacks. It was dark. I sat down, tossed the wallet in my purse, carelessly, and then the previews started and I forgot all about it. The movie was over. I went to the restroom and then decided to have dinner with BR.

The restaurant was great. The food was fantastic. And the check came. I went to get some cash from my wallet to leave the tip. And that’s when it happened. All the blood drained from my body. My heart felt like it stopped. And then my mind went back to the theatre when I tossed my wallet in my purse. I pictured my wallet on the movie theatre floor….possibly picked up by someone with intent to keep it. My eyes welled up.

We settled our bill at the restaurant and I called the movie theatre. It was 2 hrs after the movie ended. I was sure the wallet was gone but I called because I believe in miracles.

They hung up on me at the movie theatre. I had a full blown cry in the streets.  The first time I cried in front of my boyfriend. He tried to make me laugh. And helped me cancel all my cards.

Having no ID, no cards, no cash really sucks. I felt like no one. No identity. And I was really down. When I feel that way, I love going out. But its hard to go out when you have no money, no credit, no nothing. But in times like that, I feel the most creative. I looked inside my fridge and felt blessed to have a fully stocked fridge. I was making a sandwich and decided to step it up a notch and be inspired by a croque madame.

IMG_0056

A croque madame is fancy grilled cheese slash french toast on good thick bread, ham, swiss cheese, tangy mustard and dredged in egg then grilled. And the best part, a fried egg on top.

IMG_0057

Ingredients: (makes 2 sandwiches)

4 slices of bread

2 tsp dijon mustard

4 slices of virginia ham

2 slices of cheese

1 egg, beaten

2 tbsp milk or cream

2 tsp butter

2 fried eggs

Directions:

Smear dijon mustard onto each bread slice. Assemble two ham and cheese sandwiches. Set aside.

Beat egg and add milk to it. Dredge the sandwiches in the egg.

Heat a skillet over medium heat. Melt the butter and grill the dredged sandwiches until golden brown on each side. About 3 minutes per side.

Top with fried egg and dig in with a cup of homemade coffee.

IMG_0059

With some oven fries on the side, this made for a fantastic homemade brunch. And I didn’t need my wallet.

Happy to report that while my wallet is gone forever, I did replace all of my cards and got a brand new wallet. Just now wherever I go, my boyfriend constantly asks me to put my wallet away and if I have everything before I leave.

*sigh*

Lesson learned.

