Tags

, , , ,

Sometime after all the hurricane, my mother and I went grocery shopping and I went in there without a plan. It was a recipe for disaster. When left to my own devices, I could get pretty out of control at the grocery store. Everything was on sale and a wild need for boxed cake mix came over me.

That, or not being able to resist something 3 for $5.

My mom, was also very convincing. And sometimes, the need for boxed cake mix presents itself which makes you grateful to have it on hand. Lazy days.

I was craving a crumb cake. I didn’t feel like making it from scratch. A little trick I learned when I used to be a die hard weight watcher is using pureed pumpkin and cake mix for a lower calorie but totally delicious cake.

IMG_0066

Ingredients:

1 box yellow cake mix

1 14 oz can of pureed pumpkin

1 egg white

1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice (or 1/2

Topping:

2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp cinnamon

Powdered sugar

IMG_0067

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350*.

Using a handheld mixer, combine the cake mix, egg, pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice and beat until smooth. About 5 minutes. 

Pour batter into 9x 13 inch baking pan. In a small bowl, combine the flour, sugar, butter and cinnamon. It will be crumbly. Spread it evenly onto the cake batter and bake according to the box directions.

IMG_0077

When cake is cooked, remove from oven and let cool for several hours. Using a small fine strainer, pour powdered sugar (about 1/4 cup) into the strainer and dust onto the cake.

The topping is crumbly and delicious while the cake is moist and fluffy. Not completely healthy, but a lighter version of my weakness. Its been ages since I took baked goods to work and this was received with much gratitude.

I regret sharing it. It was that good.

