Tags

, , , , ,

Well, hello there.

We survived the Apocalypse! To be honest, I was everything I expected. But I was thoroughly entertained on Twitter and Facebook feeds.

With Christmas, literally, days away, I have had my hands full. Between buying last minute gifts (thought I was done!), putting together a Christmas dinner menu (Ham! We are doing HAM!), and getting sick (AGAIN) there has been much on my to do list that I just look at a say “NOT NOW!”.

My saving Grace was my slow cooker this week. I chose a few recipes to make that were slow cooker only. When I went grocery shopping, I bought everything I needed, came home and prepped for each recipe. Then I put everything for each recipe into a freezer bag, labeled it and froze it. When it was time to throw it in the slow cooker, everything was where it needed to be. I dumped the contents of the bag, set it to low, went to work and came home to dinner.

I wont lie, there were some serious hits and some very serious misses with this slow cooker experiment. While I love coming home to dinner being already made, there is something really comforting about dinner that was just cooked. And not to mention the disappointment that comes when you cook something all day and it tastes like shit.

This is not one of those shitty ones. In fact, this was quite good. I haven’t had Jambalaya in forever and looking at this package of andouille sausage was all I needed to make this happen.

IMG_0090

The recipe needs some tweaking but not much. It was very easy to prepare and tasty.

Serves: 1 cup of jamabalaya per person (feeds 8)

1 medium onion, chopped
1 ribs celery, chopped
1/2  cup water
1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch cubes
8 ounces cooked andouille sausage, sliced
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chiles, undrained
1 Tablespoon Tomato paste
4 cups hot cooked rice
Chopped green onions (optional)

IMG_0091

Directions:

Place onion, celery, water, cajun seasoning, thyme, sausage, chicken, tomatoes, and tomato paste in a 5qt slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high or 4-5 hours. (this recipe called for shrimp as well, but I didn’t have any on hand- feel free to add shrimp).

To serve, place 1 cup of jambalaya on top of 1/2 cup of fluffy white rice and garnish with sliced green onions.

IMG_0094

I left out the tomato paste in this recipe an the sauce was very thin. The addition of tomato paste and less water (already decreased in the recipe) should yield a more substantial sauce.

This recipe was not very spicy. Even my mother, who does not like spicy foods, enjoyed this recipe. It was enough to feed mom, dad, BR, and I plus leftovers for lunch. This is a great recipe for snowy nights in and good sit-com reruns.

Ooooh. And a glass of wine.

And a snuggie.

and fuzzy slippers.

and boyfriends who do dishes.

