Wanted to take the time to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas! My first Christmas back in Brooklyn in years and my mother is visiting my sis for the holidays. This means I get to host my own, intimate Christmas dinner. I am very much looking forward to it and am surprised at myself.

When I sit down to plan with mom for Thanksgiving, I am the one vying for new recipes and finding ways to one-up our traditions. She is the one who holds firm and sticks to what we know. Now, having the chance to have my own Christmas dinner, I find myself choosing the things mom made at all the Christmas dinners we had as a family.

Ham.

Even BR said “what’s Christmas without Ham?”. And believe it or not, this will be the first time I made ham.

amazing.

Macaroni and Cheese.

A staple for our family at any gathering. Elbow Macaroni. Sharp Cheddar Cheese. And cream to make it ooey and gooey.

Brussel Sprouts with bacon and onions.

A new tradition. But a tasty one.

And finally, Pumpkin Pie with Whipped Cream and nutmeg.  Cant wait.

We are having a very small group of people over but I am very much looking forward to it. Also, my first Christmas with BR. :: squeal::

IMG_0155

You are probably confused with all these cookie pics. But I finally replaced my photo uploader and there are the pics from the recent blogger cookie exchange.

And since the recipe is already posted here, I thought I would share some tips on cookie making that I found helpful.

IMG_0156

-Having a reliable stand mixer is important. It mixes things evenly and saves you time.

– creaming the butter and sugar is really important. And timing is crucial. If you over beat the butter and sugar the cookies will be flat and gummy. Underbeating wont provide you with fluffy and soft chewy cookies.

– Recipes are there for a reason. Certain ingredients should go in before others. I once added ingredients in whatever order I remembered for some cookies and they were terrible. Parts tasted like raw flour. Other parts were reminiscent of cardboard.

IMG_0157

– I use foil to line my cookie sheets. Easy clean up. Also, less stickage and my cookie sheets stay looking DECENT.

– After taking cookies out of the oven, I leave them on the cookie sheet for 3 minutes to cool slightly and firm up a tiny bit. It makes transfering them to a cooling rack much much easier.

IMG_0160

– you only live once. Eat a cookie fresh out of oven! Who cares if its for your Holiday Cookie exchange! Have you ever tasted a still warm cookie??? O M G.

– Do it with love. When I begrudgingly bake, I can tell. There is something missing. Love is a very important ingredient. If you make them with your heart, you cant go wrong.

I am happy to report that the cookies I made for BR’s parents made it safely to the UK in 13 days. Shockingly, the cookies were soft and chewy and totally made their day. Looks like there are more cookies in their future. Smile

Hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and a delicious time with your family! Do share some of your family traditions! Cant wait to hear about them.

xoxoxox

Mo (and Mickey)

