Tags

, , , ,

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! This year was the first year that I cooked dinner and I invited a few of my friends who weren’t up to anything. I tried as best as I could to document the dinner but I kept forgetting.

IMG_0201

BR suggested we do a ham. I have never made a ham before, other than heating up a spiral ham back when I lived with my mother. It felt like the best time to try something new!

IMG_0202

I found a great source for an easy but very delicious recipe. I could barely do this recipe justice – for great photos and instructions, visit the instructables sight.

I basically scored the low salt ham, rubbed it with brown sugar, stuck pineapple rings all over it then covered it and baked it for 4 hrs. After the 4 hrs, I uncovered it and glazed the ham with pineapple juice and brown sugar with a  touch of maple syrup, then baked it  uncovered for 30 minutes.

When it was done, what a sight! I left it to rest while I worked on the other dishes. If there is an art to carving ham, it is lost upon me. I hacked off slabs of ham while BR and I ate the “ugly” slices… for quality control. It was juicy. Flavorful. An instant hit.

IMG_0192

I made fried cauliflower. An old favorite.

IMG_0203

Grandma used to make them at every family function. Cauliflower florets dredged in eggs, breaded and fried.

IMG_0187

I also made brussel sprouts. I crisped up some chopped bacon and saved the drippings. I caramelized pearl onions in the drippings and then combined quartered brussel sprouts, bacon and onions in a baking pan. I roasted the brussel sprouts for 30 minutes at 400*, stirring every 10 minutes.

IMG_0204

The guests all dug in and with the absence of a big enough table, we had massive plates of food on our laps.

There were trips for 2nds and 3rds.

I am still left with 8lbs of ham. Lots of leftovers in the near future!

IMG_0205

My brussel sprouts were a surprising hit. If you have never had brussels, please try them this way!

IMG_0208

The fried cauliflower was a nice and sneaky way to get some friends to eat their vegetables. If the fried part scares you, these are great broiled.

IMG_0209

Oh the ham! It has be to made again… im thinking easter.

IMG_0210

And of course, mac and cheese. I think my brother ate 1 of the 2 lbs that I made.

All in all it was a successful Christmas. My Sweetie was a great Santa. I got a stunning necklace with a heart diamond pendant along with a gel manicure set and a Cheese slate.

Happy Girl!

Hope you had a merry Christmas!

