I almost feel I have no right to be posting this 9 days after the fact, but it was a first of many New Years that I wanted to share.

A first for BR and I. We have been friends for years but never spent New Year’s Eve together. It was also a first that I didn’t have a party to go to. But the best first, was the first time I made fondue at home.

My former roommate gave me an awesome fondue for two set for Christmas. I thought since it was an occasion of firsts, this would have to be the evening I made fondue.

IMG_0223

For the fondue: (recipe from Yumly)

12 ounces beer 8 oz white wine
8 4 ounces swiss cheese, shredded (mild irish swiss works best)
4 2 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1/4 cup 2 Tbsp flour
1 .5 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
2 1 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 teaspoon mustard powder 1/2 tsp spicy mustard
1/4 teaspoon pepper

IMG_0226

Directions:

In a medium pot, over medium heat, combine wine, worcestershire, garlic, mustard and flour. Heat for about 5 minutes or until simmering. Lower the heat and add the cheese. Stir the cheese in figure 8 shapes. When cheese is completely melted, transfer to fondue pot.

IMG_0224

for dipping into the cheese fondue, I prepared some sliced salumi, blanched carrots and broccoli…

IMG_0225

Diced italian bread which I made into croutons…

IMG_0227

We settled on the couch with our enormous spread and put on  some of our favorite movies.

IMG_0228

….on the couch of course.

We stuffed our faces to the point of sleepiness. And at 11 pm we made the mistake of closing our eyes for a quick nap.

at 12:23am, I woke up startled and dismayed that we slept through the New Year. Was definitely a first for me. BR was happy he got a nap.

Next Year, we go out! (but we make fondue!)

