Tags

, , , , ,

About a year ago, I hosted a potluck in my Queens apartment. We had a great lineup of dishes and we ate like piggies. My friend, Evan, brought over a dish that he claimed to half-ass and apologized profusely over; but it was delicious. So much so that after a year I was still thinking about the dish. It was simple and had great texture that kept me reaching into the bowl for more. I briefly recall it was a Mediterranean Farro salad.

IMG_0239

When some Farro fell into my lap, I started looking for recipes that reminded me of Evan’s Farro salad. While I was searching I found some awesome facts about Farro. For starters, farro is a grain. It reminds me of a wheat berry, only less chewy. It has double the amount of fiber and protein that the more modern whole grains. Also, its an ancient grain.

Freakin awesome.

IMG_0243

Anywho, back to the salad. This awesome recipe served as a guide of sorts to recreate the salad Evan brought on that awesome night.

Ingredients:

3 cups of cooked farro (1 cup of farro to 2 cups of water, cooked the way you cooked rice)

1/2 cup golden raisins

1/2 cup reduced fat feta, crumbled

squirt of half a lemon

cracked black pepper

IMG_0244

When the farro is cooked, allow it to sit and cool for a bit and combine the feta, raisins, pepper and lemon. Toss lightly. Serve room temperature.

IMG_0248

I served this salad with a piece of salmon and steamed broccoli. The salad was just as good as I remembered. And even better now that I know how to make it! The raisins with the feta give it a nice sweet and salty thing going on that’s not over powering. The farro are plump and slighlty chewy- which I love.

Its filling. Yet, I still went back for seconds of this salad.

MOAR FARRO SALAD PLEEEZ!

