Tags

, , , ,

In my obsession with dodging the epic strain of the flu that has been plaguing this winter season with tons of hand sanitizer, I missed the memo on the other thing plaguing the winter. The stomach flu. Yep. It got me.

What started out as a fun filled weekend ended abruptly with bone aching fever and teeth chattering chills (along with the more unsavory elements of the stomach flu – which I will spare you of). The weekend was completely miserable (the 8 lb weight loss being the only plus) and sadly, am reading lots of literature on how ferocious this virus is. Word of warning, be safe. If you’re sick, stay home.

Now, BEFORE I felt like death, I craved steak. All the talks of restaurant week had me craving a juicy steak with a nice char and a deliciously pink center. My favorite online grocer must have known I was jonesing for some red meat as they recommended a steak that was both enticing and affordable. So I bit the bullet and ordered some steaks. 

IMG_0197

On steak day, Mickey was camped out in front of the kitchen waiting for anything to fall to the floor.

BR doesn’t eat many greens but he is quite fond of green beans. I take fresh green beans, washed and trimmed, then sauté them in garlic and olive oil. On this particular occasion, I began the green beans in the sauté pan and then finished them in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

IMG_0231

The potato was zapped in the microwave and served with sea salt and non fat greek yogurt- delicious by the way- and the eye of round was seared. The steak I was most proud of didn’t make the cut photowise- note to self, CHECK the photos before turning camera off- so this steak which was just as delicious is lacking that beautiful brown crust from searing.

I seasoned the steak with onion, garlic, salt and pepper. Then cranked the heat on high of a lightly sprayed (with cooking spray) pan and placed the steak down on the pan when it was screaming hot. If you don’t hear crazy sizzling sounds, your pan is not hot enough and you are doing it wrong. I allowed the steak to cook on high for 3 minutes on each side. After it cooked on both sides, I let it rest. Resting is important.

IMG_0232

I served the steak topped with caramelized onions.

IMG_0233

Since Mickey was a good girl, she got scraps of steak and green beans. The steak was well seasoned and juicy. Despite it being so lean, the quick sear kept the meat succulent. A great steak for a great price.

Rib sticking and def satisfied the craving.

