Tags

, , , , , ,

Over the weekend, BR and I celebrated our own Valentine’s Day along with 6 months of being together. It was great. On the 14th, I made his favorite: stewed oxtail and on Saturday we had a fantastic dinner at Otto, where we had our first date, complete with appetizers, entrees, wine and dessert. It was quite an indulgent weekend.

I like to keep some family traditions that my mother used to hold. Every Sunday, we had dinner around 3pm. She had been doing so since she was a youngen. We had a light breakfast and I set a 4 lb pork tenderloin to marinate.

IMG_9926

For the marinade:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup of hoisin sauce

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 tsp sesame oil

1/4 tsp ginger powder

light sprinkle of red pepper flakes

Method: Allow the pork to marinate for at least an hour. When read to cook, preheat oven to 425*. Set the tenderloin in a shallow baking sheet and cover with all the marinating liquid. Bake uncovered for about 10-15 minutes per pound. 45 minutes later,(at 145* internal temp) I removed the tenderloin from the oven and allowed it to rest (and for the internal temp to reach 160).

IMG_9927

That was the perfect time to roast my sugar snap peas and brussel sprouts. They roasted at 425 for 15 minutes. I like when they get a little charred.

IMG_9930

I had some leftover white rice to add to the mix and threw some fresh scallions on top for something different.

IMG_9932

When the meat has fully rested, slice on a bias and serve. I am not too sure what constitutes as a full serving but this was more than sufficient for me. 

Asian marinated meat is always a win in my house.

