Tags

, , , ,

A while ago, I let on that I had a few cooking fails coming up. I postponed them several times… they were that bad. But everyone makes mistakes and has a bad recipe every now and then, but don’t let it be discouraging. That’s part of what makes you a better cook- knowing what went wrong and how to make it better next time.

IMG_0099

I was on a slow cooker kick. I chose a week’s worth of recipes that required little to no actual work and would allow me to come home from work and have dinner already cooked. Its no surprise how much I love my slow cooker. Even BR is starting to like when he sees me prepping the slow cooker for dinner. But sometimes, you pick a recipe that just doesn’t deliver.

This chicken korma recipe had a lot of promise, A great list of ingredients and minimal effort. When I made my grocery run for the week, I prepped all of the recipes and put them in freezer bags so the night before, I simply dumped the contents into the slow cooker, refrigerated it and then in the AM, set it to cook on low.

  • 2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken thighs breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped onion (1 onion)
  • 2 tablespoons minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed peeled baking potato
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can petite diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 (3-inch) cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 cup plain fat-free yogurt
  • 4 cups hot cooked long-grain brown rice
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Combine the first 11 ingredients (up to the cinnamon stick) into a 4 qt crock pot and set it to low and cook for 8 hrs. With 30 minutes left to cook, set the vessel to high and stir in the yogurt. (this step failed miserably for me. the yogurt curdled even after tempering)

To serve, place 1 cup cooked brown rice in a bowl and ladle the Chicken Korma on top and garnish with cilantro.

IMG_0100

I am a lover of all foods from all over. This seemed like a great indian dish. The aroma was incredibly off-putting. I didn’t let that deter me. I served the dish. We both ate it. It was confusing to our taste buds. It wanted to be a curry but was lacking the heat. The cinnamon was strong and wouldn’t have been so bad but this dish just wasn’t right for me. Some might enjoy it but for me, it needs tweaking. More Curry. or No Curry. I don’t know. It was teetering on two different kinds of flavors and most of it went into the trash.

IMG_0101

If this happens, don’t be discouraged. You are now 1 step closer to knowing what works for you and what doesn’t.

