Tags

, , , ,

Before I get into the Meat and Potatoes of this post, a big thank you to all who participated in the giveaway! I have picked the two winners using Random.org. The winners are Tiffany and Alyssa! Congrats ladies! Shoot me an email with your shipping info!

Sometimes you just need a beefy, rib sticking dish. Sometimes, you find score a huge roast at the grocery store for a great price and have a great Sunday Dinner.

This is that “sometime”.

This roast was the perfect size for my 4 quart slow cooker so I decided to make it a slow cooker day.

IMG_0490

Pot Roast

Ingredients

1 pot roast (6-7  lbs)

1 clove of garlic, sliced

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp onion powder

salt and pepper to taste

IMG_0491

Method

On the evening before cooking, stab the roast several times with a knife and fill the “stab wounds” with fresh garlic. Once its filled with garlic, liberally add garlic and onion powder. Then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to marinate for a few hours or overnight.

When you are ready to cook, sear the meat in a cast iron skillet or heavy bottom pan on all sides and then transfer to the slow cooker. Don’t add any liquid! The beauty of the slow cooker is the meat makes its own “juice” which make for perfect gravies. Set this baby on High for 3-4 hours or on Low for 6-7 hours. I cooked mine on high for 4 hrs.

IMG_0492

When it was done cooking, I transferred the roast to a plate to cool and allow the juices to redistribute. After about 30 minutes, I began to carve. It was incredibly tender and juicy.

If you are planning on slow cooking a roast, be sure to use a vessel that JUST FITS the meat. It will ensure the meat doesn’t overcook or dry out.

With the drippings left in the slow cooker, I collected them, strained them and made a nice brown gravy to top on the beef.

IMG_0493

And while I was at it, I made some mashed potatoes (with almond milk!) and heated some canned corn.

Not the healthiest thing on the planet but perfect for a 3pm Sunday dinner.

