Tags

, , , ,

It’s been so long since I have made a tofu dish. I remember tofu being a major element in my diet when I first moved out on my own as its high in protein, so a little can go a long way; its inexpensive, so a lot can last a while; and its versatile, so you can pretty much make anything with it.

IMG_0237

Most people I know that don’t like tofu blame the texture. Personally, I love it. And then there is the flavor. Its pretty mild in flavor which, for me, makes it so awesome.

As it turns out, I bought a few blocks of tofu to mix up lunch and dinners only to find out BR doesn’t like tofu- so I had quite a bit of tofu on my hands. It was time for an experiment.

I really love tofu in curry dishes. And curry is easier to prepare than I had originally thought.

IMG_0234

Coconut Curry with Tofu and Broccoli

Ingredients:

1 block of tofu, pressed and cubed

1 Tablespoon coconut oil

1 heaping tablespoon of red curry paste

1 cup of light coconut milk

1/4 cup veggie stock

2 cups of cooked broccoli florets

IMG_0235

In a fry pan, heat coconut oil over a medium flame. Add the tofu and fry on all sides – about 1 minute on each side. When the tofu is browned on all sides, remove from pan. Add the tablespoon of curry paste in the pan and stir. Slowly whisk in the coconut milk until the curry paste is well incorporated into the coconut milk. At this point, you can add the veggie stock and heat through. Let simmer for 10 minutes over low flame.

Return the tofu to the pan to coat and lastly, throw in the broccoli.

IMG_0236

Serve it over white rice.

The thing that is so wonderful about coconut curry is its instant ability to warm and comfort. Great flavors and its not too unhealthy- as long as its enjoyed in moderate portions.

It got a thumbs up from BR, but out of principle, he still wont eat tofu.

Oh well.

MORE FOR ME!

