If you read this blog, you probably read other blogs too. I read about a hundred blogs and it can be difficult to keep track of them all. I was fortunate enough to have Google Reader for 4 good years and just the other day, I went into panic mode as the message popped up on my beloved Google Reader that the service I so loved would be coming to an end in July.

I panicked. I mean, I am not the most technologically savvy person out there, and I hate change. I sought my media channels to ask friends what they planned on doing. I actually got a lot of great leads. But ultimately, I needed something that reminded me of my beloved Google Reader. Also, I was going to need something that would allow me to transfer all my subscriptions with the click of a mouse.

Cue: Netvibes.com

Netvibes.com is a media/news reading device. They have a premium packaged that you can pay for… but at the asking price of $499, I am guessing this program is for corporations. Fear not though, the basic reader is free and it looks A LOT like Google Reader!

NetVibes

I have included this screen shot of how it looks on my computer screen. I truly love the ease of this program and the familiarity!

I didn’t find this baby on my own, though. I had help.

And if you are wondering about transferring the blogs to the new site, It was super easy thanks to Google Takeout.  And Lifehacker does a great job at explaining how to make the transfer.

Well, that’s it for now.

Just wanted to put my two cents in regarding the Google Reader’s sudden and sad departure. (note, I did not receive compensation for this review. The opinions above are my own.) I have heard some great things about the competition. If you have already found a news reader, share the love in the comments.

Happy Browsing.

