Tags

, , , ,

I have an obsession with my jars. I have been collecting jars and using them for leftovers or making things specifically to store in jars. One of my fave things on Pinterest lately are the salads in a jar! So gorgeous. And seems so revolutionary in salad storage! Call me a dork but I shied away from packing salads over the years because I packed my salad dressing and protein in separate containers making my salad heavier than a salad should be… so I stopped.

And while eating clean, a hearty healthy salad (in a jar) had to happen. But then as I was filling my jar, I realized that all the extras would take away from all the crispy crunchy lettuce leaves in the salad. And leaving that out is stupid.

IMG_0553

I’m pretty sure I am not the first person to think of out the jar here and assemble the salad the same way, just in a bigger vessel. But why have I been so ignorant? How did I not know how to do this?

I made 4 salads. Two for me, two for BR. Two days of lunch. Boom.

From memory, I assembled our bomb ass salads:

Ingredients:

8 cups of romaine lettuce

2 cans of solid albacore tuna in water, drained

1 large tomato

2 hardboiled eggs

2 cups of green beans

2 small baked potatoes

1/2 cup honey mustard vinaigrette (not the traditional one used in nicoise salads but this is our fave)

IMG_0554

To assemble one salad “jar”:

layer One: 2 Tbsp honey Mustard Dressing

Layer Two: 1/2 cup green beans

Layer Three: 1/4 of tomato

Layer Four: 1/2 hard boiled egg, sliced

Layer Five: 1/2 baked potato, roughly chopped

Layer Six: Half a can of tuna

Layer Seven: 2 cups of lettuce

IMG_0555

When you are ready to eat, turn it upside down for a few minutes to let the dressing trickle down through the entire salad. This salad is hearty, filling, and delicious.

I am really excited to be jumping back on the salad bandwagon… now? I just need to find the perfect jar for it.

