Tags

, , , ,

Behold! A very delicious and unphotogenic salad. All the elements of a burger  and fries but on a bed iceberg lettuce.

IMG_0574

Wanting to satisfy a burger craving, I decided to follow a lead via the Weight Watchers website on a turkey burger salad.  This salad was satisfying and tasty. I surely enjoyed leftover for lunch and felt guilt-less enjoying such a hearty “burger”.

Ingredients: serves 4

1 lb extra lean ground turkey

1 small onion, diced

salt

8 oz white button mushrooms, sliced

4 ounces reduced fat cheddar cheese

2 large red potatoes, baked

8 cups iceberg lettuce

IMG_0575

In a large skillet, heat 1 tsp oil over a medium flame and saute the onions until translucent, about 5-6 minutes. Then, add the mushrooms and cook through, about 3-4 minutes. Set the mushrooms and onions aside and add ground turkey to the skillet, season with salt to taste. Break up with spoon as you cook to make crumbles.

IMG_0576

When the turkey is cooked, serve on a bed of lettuce, sprinkle with cheddar cheese. Add 1/2 a baked potato (roughly chopped) to the plate and add onions and mushrooms. I drizzled the potatoes with some ketchup and viola. The recipe this was inspired by called for balsamic vinegar but I wanted this to remind me of a real burger (minus the bun) and this was great.

I might have had two servings.

No, I definitely had two servings.

