Tags

, , , , , ,

I wanted to change things up a bit. When I saw this recipe in Cooking Light magazine back in April, I thought this was a definite win. The last meatball recipe I tried in a cooking light magazine was the chicken yakitori meatball and they were fantastic. So, I thought meatballs and bbq sauce couldn’t steer me wrong.

IMG_0619

  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes with mild green chiles (such as Del Monte)
  • 1 1/4 pounds ground turkey
  • 3 tablespoons Italian-seasoned dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • Cooking spray

IMG_0620

  1. Place first 6 5 ingredients in a blender; blend until smooth.
  2. Combine turkey, breadcrumbs, and chili powder in a large bowl; using wet hands, shape into 12 meatballs.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Lightly coat pan with cooking spray. Add meatballs; cook 2 minutes, turning to brown on all sides. Add tomato mixture to pan; bring to a simmer. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 6 minutes or until the meatballs are done.

IMG_0622

The meatballs couldn’t be eaten alone… or could they?

IMG_0623

I decided to saute some spinach in garlic and olive oil.

IMG_0625

And to make it look just like the photo, I whipped up some smashed cauliflower.

IMG_0628

This was a really balanced dinner but if I’m being honest, I really didn’t like the sauce on the meatballs. It was too acidic and sweet for my liking. I prefer bbq sauces to be smoky. It wasn’t a total failure but I’ve had better.

